Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

La Raza Studies

Find Books and eBooks - La Raza Studies

Start Your Research with Library Databases - La Raza Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch

newspapers, magazines & journals of the ethnic, minority and native press / on-campus-only link

click here for a helpful demonstration of how to use this database

SIRS Issues Researcher

magazines, journals, newspapers, and speeches; focused on important social issues / on-campus-only link

Gale Ebooks: Virtual Reference Library

reference books and encyclopedias to give you a quick overview on your topic before you take a deep dive into research / on-campus-only link

New York Public Library Digital Collections

New York Public Library provides access to over 700000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities from their collections. This is open access, no subscription required.

Watch Films - La Raza Studies

Hispanic Americans - Kanopy

Documentaries and feature films about immigrants, education, politics, art, culture, and more.

Latin American Studies - Kanopy

Documentaries and feature films - grouped by topic (politics, artists, social issues) and origin (Cuban, Mexican, Indigenous, and more).

La Raza Studies - Academic Video Online (AVON)

Streaming video from well-known producers like PBS, BBC, History, and more.

Latino Studies - Films on Demand

Watch acclaimed documentaries and award-winning educational films.

El Teatro Campesino Archives

From the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives (CEMA) at University of California, Santa Barbara. This collection of 118 videos contains El Teatro Campesino plays, television specials, concerts, interviews, news footage, commercials, and workshops.

Latino Public Broadcasting

LPB funds public media programs including dramas, documentaries and digital content, which provide impactful stories from a variety of Latino producers across the country. LPB supports the development, production, acquisition and distribution of public media content that is representative of Latino people, or addresses issues of interest to Latino-Americans.

Internet Resources - La Raza Studies

Pew Research Center logo

Pew Hispanic Center

The Pew Hispanic Center's mission is to improve understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. The Center strives to inform debate on critical issues through dissemination of its research to policymakers, business leaders, academic institutions and the media.

The Tomás Rivera Policy Institute

The Tomás Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI) is a nonprofit policy research organization which has attained a reputation as the nation's "premier Latino think tank." One of TRPI's critical strengths is survey research--ranging from questionnaire and sample frame development, to survey interviewing--which allows TRPI to gauge the attitudes held by diverse Latino populations vis a vis salient policy issues.

Smithsonian Latino Center

Smithsonian Latino Center

Provides links to rich information and resources on Latino art and artists, including the webzine ¡del Corazón! which features the Smithsonian Museum of American Art's collection of art by Latino artists. Also included is a 56-page bilingual information booklet on Latino resources at the Smithsonian, as well as links to virtual exhibits.

Unidos US

Unidos US

UnidosUS (formerly the National Council of La Raza) is the largest organization in the United States that fights for Latino equality. A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan, tax-exempt organization established in 1968 to reduce poverty and discrimination, and improve life opportunities for Hispanic Americans. 

A Note on Language | Names Matter: La Raza, LatinX, Chicano/a, Hispanic, Latino/a

You will encounter the terms "Chicano(s)" or "Chicana(s)", "Latino(s)" or "Latina(s)", "Hispanic(s)" or "Hispanic American(s)", "Central American(s)", "South American(s)", and "Mexican American(s)" in different websites, online catalogs, and databases.

Regardless of which terms you prefer, it may be necessary for you to try all of them to find the resources you need. A keyword search can help to determine which terms have been used in the database you are trying to use.

In those databases with a controlled list of vocabulary, "Chicano" or "Chicana" will rarely be the term selected. Instead "Mexican American" or even "Hispanic American" will probably be the preferred term, but sometimes Latino and Latina is used.

U.S. government websites have traditionally used the term "Hispanic American" in their reporting, but recently, the Census Bureau allowed people to self select the terms used to identity their ethnicity in the 2000 Census. Most government agencies have begun to use some of these other terms.

Credit: Maggie Clark, Chicano/a Studies Librarian at CSU Dominguez Hills

Which citation style are you using?

CCC Library Logo

Research Help (call or text) 510-426-5026

Circulation (books & technology) 510-215-4921

Email a Librarian

Today's Hours