Course Outline of Records:
Imagina:Espanol sin Barreras (Blanco) 2015 3rd ed
Avance (Bretz, Krischner, Brandsdorfer & Kihyet) 2014 3rd ed
Punto y aparte (Foerster, Lamb) 2015 5th ed (eBook 3 users available)
En Contacto (McVey,Wegmann, & Mendez) 2015 9th ed
Exploracion es curso intermedio (Blitt, Copple) 2015 1st ed (CCC course reserve 60.11)
Suggested textbooks:
Intermediate/Advanced Spanish Manual (Entrada Libre) (Lee, Moon, Ballesteros, Crisosto) (2022) CC BY NC SA. Entrada libre is an intermediate/advanced college-level Spanish OER grammar manual for second language learners and heritage speakers of Spanish at the community college level. Instructors will be able to download the entire manual. Each of the 24 units includes a reading with examples of the grammar points used in context, grammar explanation, and self-graded follow-up activities for practice using H5P as a formative assessment.
Problem-Based Units for Advanced Students of Spanish (Eckerson) (2022) CC BY NC. The purpose of these PBL units is to provide advanced students of Spanish (generally 3rd and 4th year college students) a series of compelling problems from Spanish culture and society.
JUNTXS Intermediate Spanish (Diaz) (2021) CC BY NC SA. JUNTXS is an open access educational resource which can be used in conjunction with a variety of approaches to support intermediate learners of Spanish. This media-rich learning resource is designed to guide learners in their Spanish language learning journey through a critical and intercultural lens
Let's Chat! Spanish (Gamino, Potzernitz, Simony, et al.) ( 2022) CC BY NC SA. Spanish features a collection of over 100 classroom-ready interpersonal speaking activities for novice and intermediate learners.
Open Educational Resources for Spanish classes - Advanced Spanish Composition II (Osborne) (2017) CC BY NC. Advanced Spanish Composition II, course. Materials have been divided into peer review (revisión por pares) handouts, close reading activities (actividades de lectura detallada) and other miscellaneous materials.
Salón de Clase: Intermediate Spanish for Education Professionals (Castro Ortiz, Zimotti) (2022) CC BY NC. This Open Education Resource (OER) aims to explore the role of Spanish language and Spanish speakers in the American education system, as well as to improve student communicative abilities in Spanish. Salón de clase integrates interactive activities (h5p), video interviews with Spanish speakers to present authentic materials, and topics related to education.
IPA Spanish Travel (intermediate proficiency) (Sherrow, Ahearn, Morfoot) (2018) CC BY NC SA. This Integrated Performance Assessment (IPA) is designed to assess students at an intermediate proficiency level. It includes tasks to assess students in the three modes of communication: interpretive, interpersonal, and presentational.
Spanish Grammar Manual (Yepes) (2020) CC BY NC SA 4.0. General review and reference in courses from second-year Spanish
Intermediate Spanish (Botts) (2022) CC BY. This resource was designed for a Spanish student who has taken at least two semesters of college-level Spanish. Its content can be useful (and adapted to) more advanced students, even heritage speakers who would like to improve their speaking, listening, reading, and writing skills as well as explore Spanish, Latin, and Hispanic Culture. This online resource can be used as a textbook for an entire one-semester college course. It provides students with opportunities to learn about Spanish, Latin and Hispanic culture and geography, as well as acquainting the students with Spanish as it is spoken in many different countries.
Spanish Learning Resources
Spanish Conversation and Composition Resources (Gillespie & Loder)(2022) CC BY NC SA. It presents a scaffolded approach to writing that includes helpful resources such as peer review exercises, grading rubrics, and instructor resources
Spanish Grammar In Context (CC BY NC SA 3.0)- detailed grammar explanations of the Spanish language. Grammar includes, adjective, adverbs, conjunction, nouns, pronouns, verbs and more. Unlike traditional reference grammars, each topic is explained using authentic video examples from the Spanish in Texas project. Accompanying practice quizzes are available on an open Canvas course site.
Open Learn - Spanish (CC BY NC SA) Open Learn provides seven Spanish courses ranging from beginners to advanced Spanish, such as "Beginners’ Spanish: food and drink", "Spanish: Perspectivas porteñas", and "Spanish: espacios públicos."
Accesso (CC BY) -A complete, interactive online curriculum for intermediate-level learners of second year Spanish.
Coerll (CC BY) Classroom activities written for specific levels of proficiency using COERLL’s multimedia Spanish resources; Collection of open Spanish materials from The U.S. Department of Education-funded Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning
Spanish Learning Resources in Libretexts
• Intermediate/Advanced Spanish Manual (Entrada Libre) - ASCCC Open Education Resources Initiative
• Book: Spanish II (Celis) - Achieving the Dream
• Aprende español con Libretexts - Saint Mary's College (Úsuga)
• Spanish H5P Library - ASCCC Open Education Resources Initiative (Moon)
• Book: Antología Abierta de Literatura Hispana (Ward) - Humanities/Bookshelves/Languages/Spanish
MLA Handbook, 8th edition
Book (Print)- (CCC)
MLA Citation Guide- (CCC Online)
Handouts (CCC-print)
Films and Videos
Films on Demand- Spanish
Academic Videos online- Spanish
SpinTX - Authentic Spanish Videos for Language Learning (CC BY NC SA 3.0) Spanish language video clips with subtitles for teaching. Part of the Spanish In Texas Corpus project.
CCC Catalog
CCC Library Catalog: Intermediate Spanish (subject search)
Limited to online resources (books, videos, etc.). Change the filters to see all materials.
OER Repositories
MERLOT Materials World Languages, this pioneer community contains thousands of OER, many of them peer-reviewed by distinguished scholars in the field.
OER Commons-Spanish
Broad search, which you can filter using the limiters on the left-side of the results page. Includes Acceso, a digital learning environment out of the University of Kansas
MERLOT- The materials in this project are specifically designed for a third-year Spanish Writing course, offering guidance to instructors on how to develop each of the four modules that constitute the course: Description, narration, argumentation, and exposition. For each of the modules, a variety of resources are presented, including peer review training sessions, classroom activities, handouts to guide students’ writing processes, and peer review guidelines. These resources follow the methodology of writing through workshops (“Talleres”)
Sample Canvas Shell