Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

This guide is intended for students who are doing research in sociology, either for classroom assignments, research papers, or exploring a career in sociology.

Books at the Contra Costa College Library

At the Contra Costa College Library, we have thousands of print and electronic books for student use. Please use the links on this page to:

  • get started with reference books (available in the library) and electronic reference books (available 24/7)
  • deepen your research with print or electronic books available for checkout or online
  • find course textbooks in our Reserves collection

Use the OneSearch box below to search almost everything at once!

Getting started with encyclopedias!

The CCC Library has many great print reference books. Remember that encyclopedias are usually about broader topics (such as prisons), so use more general words to search for print encyclopedias (rather than specific ideas like "prison discrimination in California").

Three encyclopedias on top of a tableEncyclopedias are ideal starting points for any research project. They can provide:

  • background or introductory information on a topic
  • information about important dates, events, and people related to a topic
  • definitions of relevant terms and terminology
  • bibliographies of further sources to consult on your topic

Selected Books - Sociology

     Why use books to do research?

  • Books provide in-depth information and analysis on a topic
  • Books often give valuable background information on a topic
  • Books can put your topic in context, helping you understand all the pertinent issues 
  • Books lead you to other sources through their bibliographies and references