Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Site

Upcoming Library WorkshopsFALL 2022 SEPT OCT NOV ZOOM LINK HTTPS://4CD.ZOOM.US/MY/CCCLIBRARY.WORKSHOPS 21ST - RESEARCH 101 @6PM 24TH - PLAGIARISM @11AM 30TH - GOOGLE+ @ 12PM 1ST - RESEARCH 101 @ 11AM 5TH - NOODLETOOLS @ 6PM 8TH - GOOGLE+ @ 11AM 12TH - TECH SUPPORT @ 6PM 15TH - CITATION 101 @ 11AM 21ST - GOOGLE+ @ 1PM 22ND - NOODLETOOLS @ 11AM 26TH-STEM DATABASE SEARCH @ 6PM 28TH - TECH SUPPORT @ 1PM 2ND - APA CITATION @ 6PM 4TH - MLA CITATION @ 1PM 9TH - NOODLETOOLS @ 6PM FOR MORE INFORMATION VISIT HTTPS://LIBGUIDES.CONTRACOSTA.EDU/SITE/JUMPSTART
SATURDAY WORKSHOP SERIES C O N N E C T WI T H U S O N Z O O M T H I S S E M E S T E R T O L E A R N A B O U T . . . F A L L 2 0 2 2 C O N T R A C O S T A C O L L E G E L I B R A R Y SEPT 24: PLAGIARISM OCT 01: RESEARCH 101 OCT 08: GOOGLE+ OCT 15: CITATION 101 OCT 22: NOODLETOOLS 11AM START TIME FOR ALL SESSIONS AND MEET ON ZOOM: https://4cd.zoom.us/my/ccclibrary.workshops

The CCC Library is hosting our FREE weekly workshop this semester for all CCC students.

All workshops are held remotely via Zoom with no reservations required and will use the same zoom link below:

https://4cd.zoom.us/my/ccclibrary.workshops


Research 101  

Sept 21st @ 6p

Oct 1st @ 11a

The library and its collections contain a wide variety of resources that may be especially helpful for your assignment & projects this semester. This workshop will teach you the essentials of using the library's physical and online collections and where you can get research help 24/7. Database demonstrations will utilize Academic Search Complete, Ethnic NewsWatch & others.

 

Plagiarism & How to Avoid It

Sept 24th @ 11am

Come and learn the basics about plagiarism and CCC's Academic Integrity policy.  

We'll cover best practices for avoiding plagiarism, and the differences between summary, paraphrase, and quotation. Please bring questions about this important academic topic.

 

Google+

Sept 30th @ 12pm

Oct 8th @ 11a

Oct 21st @ 1pm

Learn to leverage all that the Google search can offer. Attendees to this session will discuss  and utilize advanced search techniques to enhance Google results. The session will also include an overview on  Google Scholar and linking CCC Library resources into your search.  

 

NoodleTools

Oct 5th @ 6p

Oct 22nd @ 11a

Nov 9th @ 6p

Attend this workshop to learn how to use this powerful citation management tool to keep your sources organized, export citations into your project assignments to create bibliographies in APA & MLA format with ease. New Noodle Tools users will also be assisted in creating their account during this session.

 

STEM Database Search

Oct 26th @ 6p

Students often struggle with finding primary research and peer-reviewed articles in

CCC Library’s scientific research databases, which is why we’re offering this  

workshop to demystify how to access, evaluate and use these great resources.

 

Tech Support

Oct 12th @ 6p

Oct 28th @ 1p

One-on-one support with all kinds of tech! Microsoft Word, Powerpoint, Excel, OneDrive, Canvas, Insite, and more! Bring us your questions and tech issues during this drop-in hour.

 

NEW! Citation 101

Oct 15th @ 11a

Citation 101 provides students a thorough overview of what citation is, academic expectations, and the technical steps needed in the creation of bibliographic lists and source use. APA & MLA Styles are discussed as examples for future use in coursework.  

 

APA Citation  

Nov 2nd @ 6p

Learn how to format an essay in the 7th edition of the APA style guide. We'll go over how to format in-text citations and citations for a Reference page and learn about library resources for APA formatting.

 

MLA Citation  

Nov 4 @ 1p

Learn how to format an essay in MLA-style, 8th edition. We'll go over how to format in-text citations and citations for a Works Cited page and learn about available library resources for MLA formatting.


For more information, please contact the Library Reference Desk -

call/text 510-426-5026 or chat with us 24/7.