Course Outline of Records:
Textbook
Electric Circuits, 11th ed. (Nilsson & Riedel)
Book (CCC Reserves 24.05)
eBook (unavailable in our country)
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: the official guide to APA style. 7th edition
Book (Print)- (CCC)
APA Citation Guide- (CCC Online)
Handouts (CCC-print)
Films and Videos
Films on Demand- Electrical Circuits
Kanopy- Electrical Circuits
Academic Videos online- Electrical Circuits
eBooks and Resources at CCC
Circuit Analysis at Contra Costa College online holdings
If you would like the library to purchase specific titles, contact Rhonelle Pillsbury for books and Erica Watson for videos
eBooks
Circuit Analysis OER Commons CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0
AC Electrical Circuit Analysis: A Practical Approach – Open Textbook Library. Fiore, James. Mohawk Valley Community College. (2020) CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0
DC Electrical Circuit Analysis: A Practical Approach- Open Textbook Library. Fiore, James. Mohawk Valley Community College. (2020) CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0
ILT106 Concepts of Direct Current. Skills Commons. Newton, Tony. Lurleen B Wallace Community College. (2014) CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0
Electronics- OER Commons (2023) CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0
All About Circuits (Design Science License)
This free electrical engineering textbook provides a series of volumes covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for students, makers, and professionals who are looking to refresh or expand their knowledge in this field.
Digital Circuit Projects: An Overview of Digital Circuits Through Implementing Integrated Circuits (CC BY)
Digital circuits, often called Integrated Circuits or ICs, are the central building blocks of a Central Processing Unit (CPU). To understand how a computer works, it is essential to understand the digital circuits which make up the CPU. This text introduces the most important of these digital circuits; adders, decoders, multiplexers, D flip-flops, and simple state machines.
Electrical Engineering (CC BY-NC-SA) On online electrical engineering textbook make available by LibreTexts.
Exploring Microcontrollers (CC BY-NC-SA) A website looking at microcontrollers.
Electromagnetics I (CC BY-NC-SA)
This book includes the following topics: electric and magnetic fields, electromagnetic properties of materials, electromagnetic waves, and devices that operate according to associated electromagnetic principles including resistors, capacitors, inductors, transformers, generators, and transmission lines.
Electromagnetics II (CC BY-NC-SA)
The book addresses magnetic force and the Biot-Savart law; general and lossy media; parallel plate and rectangular waveguides; parallel wire, microstrip, and coaxial transmission lines; AC current flow and skin depth; reflection and transmission at planar boundaries; fields in parallel plate, parallel wire, and microstrip transmission lines; optical fiber; and radiation and antennas.
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering I (CC BY-NC-SA)
The text focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means, including elementary signal theory, time- and frequency-domain analysis, sampling theorem, digital information theory, digital transmission of analog signals, and error-correcting codes.
Signals and Systems (CC BY-NC-SA)
This text introduces signals and systems, with chapters on time domain analysis, Fourier series, Fourier transforms, sampling and reconstruction, and time system design.
Electrical Engineering textbooks used at MVCC (Fiore) 2021 (CC BY-NC-SA)
Videos/Simulations
Electronics (CC BY-NC)
A collection of interactive learning objects that focus on concepts that cover a broad-based electromechanical program. Resouces are divided into the following categories: AC Electronics, Automation, DC Electronics, Digital, Generators / Distribution, Hydraulics, Ladder / PLCs, Mechanical Drives, Mechanical Linkages, Electric Motors, Pneumatics, Process Control, Safety, Sensors, Solid State, Information and Communications Technologies, and Variable Speed Drives.
Engineering Technology: Electrical Motor Control Simulations (CC BY)
A collection of 3-D simulations demonstrating electrical motor control.
Types of Electric Motors (CC YouTube License)
A video describing the characteristics and advantages/disadvantages of several different types of motors. Although this video does not exhaustively cover all types of motor, it covers many of the most commonly encountered motors in industry and in home use.
Resources
Modular Electronics Learning (ModEL) project (CC BY)
A collection of tutorials on topics in electricity and electronics.
Practice Problem Worksheets (CC BY)
A collection of worksheets and exams on mathematics, basic science, electricity and electronics, and instrumentation and process control.
Worksheets (CC BY)
A large collection of worksheets on the following topics: Basic Electricity, DC Electric Circuits, AC Electric Circuits, Network Analysis Techniques, Discrete Semiconductor Devices and Circuits, Analog Integrated Circuits, Digital Circuits, and Mathematics for Electronics.
Public Domain Course
Electromechanical Technology Series (Public domain)
TERC, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, developed a two-year (four-semester) instructional program designed to prepare technicians for the emerging electromechanical occupations in industry. The project was completed in August 1973 and was supported by grant funds provided by the U. S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. This collection includes all 16 student manuals, which are all now in the public domain and free for reuse and redistribution. Each book’s materials are presented in an action-oriented format combining many of the features normally found in a textbook with those usually associated with a laboratory manual.
MIT - Circuits and Electronics | Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (Public domain CC-BY)
designed to serve as a first course in an undergraduate electrical engineering (EE), or electrical engineering and computer science (EECS) curriculum. At MIT, 6.002 is in the core of department subjects required for all undergraduates in EECS. The course introduces the fundamentals of the lumped circuit abstraction.
OER Repositories
OER Commons (2023) CC-BY-NC-SA Open Educational Resources (OER) network for collaboration among the California community college system
Open Text (2023) CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0- Provide textbooks, videos, and presentations (General)
LibreTexts (2023) CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0
Pressbooks OER (2022) CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide
Sample Canvas Shell