Circulation ServicesMedia ServicesServices for Students with DisabilitiesRemote Printing ServicesCampus Computer LabsElectronic Reserves
This is the "Media Services" page of the "Library Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Services  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.contracosta.edu/services Print Guide

Media Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Media Services

MEDIA COLLECTION

The media collection consists of audiocassettes, compact discs, CD-ROMs, DVDs, and VHS videotapes. These programs are for the use of district faculty, staff and students only. They may be checked out from the Library's Circulation Desk. Note that students may not check out media items for home use, but may view them in the Media Lab.

Programs are listed in the Online Catalog, and in the printed Media Collection Subject Index, which lists programs by broad subject area (e.g. Anthropology). A copy of this index (updated annually) is in a binder on the Circulation Desk counter and is also available online as a PDF file, Media Collection Subject List. You will need Acrobat Reader to view this document -- you can download it for free from Adobe.

If a student needs to use a Media Lab program as part of a class presentation, the instructor of that class must contact the Circulation Desk staff to provide student's name and the date needed -- and to accept responsibility for the proper use and return of the program.

Faculty should go to Media Services for Faculty for more information about scheduling media collection programs to use in the classroom.

MEDIA COLLECTIONS ONLINE

The CCC Library also has digital streaming rights for selected titles from Films for the Humanities & Sciences plus several subject area collection subscriptions. Most of these programs are listed in the Online Catalog; the A la Carte titles are also listed in the printed Media Collection Subject List. Locate all titles in Films on Demand (also a link from the Library's Databases webpage). Users will need to authenticate that they are current CCC students or employees when using from off-campus. 

Other video programs are available online, many freely, including:

  • Khan Academy: Over 36,000 video and tutorials. Original focus was on math and science, but subject offerings are expanding. 
     
  • PBS: Newer programs are sometimes available for online viewing for a limited time. There may also be a page of teaching activities, discussion questions, etc.
     
  • TED Talks: Online clearninghouse of speeches that offer knowledge and a glimpse of what's to come from the world's most inspiring speakers

MEDIA LAB

The Media Lab is adjacent to the Circulation Desk; it provides the equipment used by students to view/hear the library's non-print materials. DVDs may also be viewed using the computers in the Information Commons area of the Library.

STUDENT ASSIGNMENTS IN THE MEDIA LAB

  • Faculty may send students to the Media Lab to view/listen to specific titles as part of a class assignment.
  • Media staff can provide each student with a verification slip as proof that he/she checked out a specific title.
  • Please keep in mind that library staff can assist students in locating materials and will show them how to use the equipment, but cannot presume to tell students what an instructor's assignment is, or how to do it. Such questions will be referred back to the instructor.

MEDIA LIBRARIAN

Contact the Media Librarian for questions regarding the media collection, copyright regulations, purchase requests, and/or for consultation on the best ways to meet classroom audiovisual needs.

Megan Kinney
Phone: 510-215-4999
Email: mkinney@contracosta.edu
 

MEDIA TECHNICIAN ASSISTANCE & EQUIPMENT FOR CLASSROOM USE

Most classrooms on campus are smart classrooms, with permanently-mounted equipment. If equipment is needed - or assistance with using the equipment - please contact campus Technology Services. [As of July 1, 2014, Media Equipment Distribution is no longer part of the CCC Library.]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip